The Highway Primary School

Early Years Foundation Stage     

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a framework for children up to the age of five, setting out key areas of learning around which activities should be based.


What does the EYFS cover?

Pupils in our Reception Class follow the EYFS Curriculum, with it's focus on structured and stimulating play based learning. 

There are 7 areas of learning and development that shape lesson planning in our Reception Class.  All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.  3 areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.  These 3 areas, the prime areas, are:   

  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

We also support the children in the 4 specific areas through which the 3 prime areas are strengthened and applied.  They are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Here are the 7 areas of learning in a little more detail:

  • Communication and language and literacy development involves giving children opportunities involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  • Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement.  Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.
  • Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.
  • Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write.  Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials to ignite their interests.
  • Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.
  • Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
  • Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play and design and technology.


How will I know how my child is doing?

The Reception Class teaching staff are responsible for putting together information on how your child is developing. You can ask to see this information, share your own impressions and build on what your child is learning at home.  

Furthermore, half-year and end of year reports will be sent home detailing each child's progress in their Reception year.